#1 – Oath of Office

August 9, 1974

Gerald R. Ford takes the Oath of Office in the East Room of the White House becoming the 38th President of the United States. In his swearing-in remarks, President Ford announces “In all my public and private acts as your President, I expect to follow my instincts of openness and candor with full confidence that honesty is always the best policy in the end. My fellow Americans, our long, national nightmare is over.” Following the ceremony, President Ford goes immediately to work meeting with Congressional leaders, senior White House staff, senior economic advisors and foreign emissaries.

Oath of Office